You are here: Home > Vegetarian recipes

Pesto

Published Sunday, 17 June, 2012 by Gillian

Homemade pesto made easy!

82%

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch basil
  • 100g pine nuts
  • 75g parmesan cheese
  • 1clove garlic
  • olive oil.

Method

In a food processor:

1 generous bunch basil (fistfull)

pine nuts

parmesan

blitz it up.

while it's blitzing, add one clove of garlic

open the processor. Add enough olive oil (not extra virgin unless you have to) to loosen it all up (see picture for reference).

devour.

Comments

  • William Younger 4 years ago

    Actually anything called parmesan is not vegetarian or it is not allowed to be called parmesan. You can use vegetarian hard cheese but not anything called parmesan.

  • Megan 5 years ago

    To all that say parmesan isn't veggie - i work in a deli, i work with over 40 types of cheese, you can get parmesan without rennet! It usually makes it cheaper as rennet is expensive, the type we sell is vegetarian purely because we have a lot of veggie customers and my boss takes great delight in making vegetarian pastries and treats for those people which most of these include parmesan.

  • Paul 5 years ago

    Also, the bacteria is in the cheese so youre kinda consuming it...

  • Lelandra 5 years ago

    Just to add, the calf has to be slaughtered to get the rennet as they are basically taking it's stomach acid; even if they did not kill the calf the process of taking the rennet could possibly kill it as well.

  • Lelandra 5 years ago

    It depends on the brand of parmesan but most of the ones sold in supermarkets do not use rennet. Mostly because it's expensive; the original parmesan (parmigiano reggiano) uses it because of tradition and because it is one of the most expensive cheeses in the world so they can afford it. Brands like kraft have official statements stating what the use (and kraft confirmed they use rennet simulating microbials). Generally speaking parmesan and parmigiano reggiano are not vegetarian but in north america at least you are gonna pay more to get a non-vegetarian version.

  • Jonny 6 years ago

    Theres also pescatarian who is like vegetarian but eats fish weird

  • Nevermind 6 years ago

    Nevermind the vegetarian issue, thanks for the recipe.

  • Jackie 6 years ago

    Vegetarian means not eating meat, therefore eating parmesan is not an issue at all for us vegetarians. If you don't eat milk/cheese/things coming frmo animals, then you are a vegan.

    and regardless of what people like to think, there are no such things as lacto-ovo-vegetarians or similar. Vegetarianism has always been about the meat, and nothing but the meat. Hipsters today just don't know how to use the word properly and they screw things up for those of us who are true vegetarians. This is a vegetarian recipe and i appreciate it a great deal.

  • Sybran 6 years ago

    I thought parmesan cheese was intrinsically non-vegetarian? =s

  • Alex 6 years ago

    Parmasean cheese not vegetarian aaaggghhh!

  • Avothecat 7 years ago

    Waitrose & sainsburys sell veggie parmesan-type hard cheese :)

  • Naomi 7 years ago

    Yup, i've yet to find parmasan cheese that's vegetarian. I've also yet to see a soft cheese that isn't vegetarian. With things like cheddar it depends on how expensive it is, a lot are veggie, but some aren't.
    i got all excited cos i hoped to find a vegetarian pesto recipe since most shopbought ones have parmasan in :(

  • Captain Helpful 7 years ago

    To mel: parmesan cheese made with calf rennet is neither vegetarian nor vegan. Therefore this recipe is most likely not vegetarian. Learned this on a come dine with me episode last night - a meal was made with store-bought pesto and the vegetarian woman couldn't eat any of the dish. So if pesto is to be 'vegetarian' it can't be made with parmesan cheese containing calf rennet.

  • Mel 7 years ago

    To sophie, because it's posted as vegetarian, not vegan -.-
    anyways, looks delicious, can't wait to try this out! :d

  • Sophie 7 years ago

    Parmesan cheese isn't vegetarian... It's made with calf rennet. So just confused as to why this is under the vegetarian section...?

On FacebookVisit us

;